Team

Meet the DISPERSALS Team

Nuno Bicho

Principal Investigator

Professor Nuno Bicho received his Ph.D. in Anthropology from Southern Methodist Uni­versity, Dallas Texas, in 1992. He is currently a Professor of Archaeology and the Vice-Rector for Science and Culture at the University of Algarve.

He is the Director of the PhD degree in Archaeology at University of Algarve and was the founder and, until recently, Director of ICArEHB (Interdisciplinary Center for Ar­cheology and Human Behavior), and together with Shannon Mcpherron, developed and was one of the Editors-in-Chief of the recent Journal of Paleolithic Archaeology (Springer-Nature Group),

He specializes in Paleolithic ecodynamics and his research focused on prehistoric cos­tal hunter-gatherers of southern Iberia for the last three decades. More recently he has also developed research on the Mesolithic of the Tagus Valley and on the Stone Age of Mo­zambique and Sudan

Researchers

Alvise Barbieri

Geoarchaeology, Geophysics
U. of Algarve/ICArEHB
abarbieri@ualg.pt

Ana Gomes

Chrysophyta cysts, diatoms
U. of Algarve/ICArEHB
aisgomes@ualg.pt

Ainara Sistiaga

Biomarkers (lipids)
U. of Copenhagen
sistiaga@mit.edu

Célia Gonçalves

GIS, Survey, Spatial analyses
U. of Algarve/ICArEHB
cmgoncalves@ualg.pt

Frederico Tátá

Cave systems
U. of Algarve/ICArEHB
ftata@cultalg.gov.pt

Gina Buckley

Stable/Radiogenic Isotopes
U. of Algarve/ICArEHB
gmbuckley@ualg.pt

Hugo Oliveira

Plant aDNA, ecology
U. of Algarve/ICArEHB
hroliveira@ualg.pt

Jeffrey Rose

Modern human dispersals and desert adaptations
U. of Algarve/ICArEHB
jirose@ualg.pt

João Cascalheira

Lithics, survey and excavation methods
U. of Algarve/ICArEHB
jmcascalheira@ualg.pt

Jonathan Haws

Medium and large fauna
U. of Louisville/ICArEHB
jonathan.haws@louisville.edu

João Marreiros

Use-wear/residue analyses
U. do Algarve/ ICArEHB
jmmarreiros@ualg.pt

Li Li

Computer modeling and quantitative analysis
U. do Algarve/ ICArEHB
lli@ualg.pt

May Murungi

Phytolith Analysis
U. do Algarve/ ICArEHB
mmurungi@ualg.pt

Mike Benedetti

Fluvial and coastal qeomorphology + soils
U of North Carolina/ICArEHB
benedettim@uncw.edu

Mussa Raja

Sedimentary and geochemical analyses
U. Eduardo Mondlane/ICArEHB
mussa.raja@uem.mz

Ricardo Godinho

Bioanthropology
U. of Algarve/ICArEHB
rmgodinho@ualg.pt

Rui Martiniano

Ancient Human DNA
Liverpool John Moores U.
R.D.LeitePortelaMartiniano@ljmu.ac.uk

Sara Rhodes

Microfauna
U. of Algarve/ICArEHB
srhodes@ualg.pt

Sahra Talamo

Radiocarbon
U. of Bologna
sahra.talamo@unibo.it


Students

Daniel Martins

Phytoliths analyses
U. of Algarve/ICArEHB
dahmartins@ualg.pt

Elena Skosey-LaLonde

Coastal environment
U. of Algarve/ICArEHB
etskoseylalonde@ualg.pt

Milton Chirindza

Paleoenvironment
U. of Algarve/ICArEHB
Chirindza.milton@gmail.com

Roxane Matias

Charcoal, fire regimes
U. of Algarve/ICArEHB
rvmatias@ualg.pt

Sarah Marie Foley

Isotopic analyses
U. of Algarve/ICArEHB
smfoley@ualg.pt

Takalani Dubayi

Data analyses
U. of Algarve/ICArEHB
takasiyahamba@gmail.com